Like I said (or will say, because I haven’t published my Las Vegas adventures yet), I almost didn’t want to leave, but I did so that I could make it here, to Florida. The blog says June 10, but it’s the 15th as I’m writing this.

So, I left Las Vegas to see Hoover Dam and the Grand Canyon. After checking out of my hotel, and doing a few last things, I eventually managed to leave at 1pm.

My late departure would bring me a pinch of fortune later in the day.

The drive up to the Hoover Dam and beyond was pretty cool. I enjoyed shooting all the way to Texas. I honestly expected desert, sand. But I got green shrubs and trees, flat top mountains, dips and hills and such.

Staring down into the dam wasn’t all that scary, not after what I did that day and the night before. I don’t even know why I’m stretching this damn dam business out. I suppose I feel a little guilty for not writing in so long.

On ward!

The speed limit in Arizona is the highest I’ve found so far in the states. A cool 75mph, that’s approximately 120 km/hr. Not too shabby.

Because I left so late in the afternoon, I ended up at the Grand Canyon national park entrance at sun down. I only wanted to stay for a few hours and shoot a few pictures and video of the canyon. The park entrance was $25 for a week. I didn’t want to stay a week.
“Hi, excuse me”, I asked the girl at the gates, “Is there any way I can get a discount if I only want to stay for a couple of hours? I just came from Vegas and I’m going to Dallas, TX next. I just want to shoot a few pictures and go”.
“Just a few hours? But there’s so much to see”, she exclaimed. I gave my best puppy face. “Alright, tell you what, this one’s on me”, she said. “Really?! Thank you SO much!”. With that, she gave me a Grand Canyon news paper and map.

I drove ahead and parked in the first lot. Lots of cars. I thought the canyon was near the parking lot so I got out my cam and map and started walking. I asked a man walking back to the lot how far it is, as I glanced to see where the sun was. He said about 3/4 mile, and the sun was almost set. It had gone below the tree line. So what did I do? I got the best bang for my buck – I slept in the car!

The only lights in the lot were from cars leaving. No buildings, lamp posts or garden lights. It was so dark I could see the stars through my tinted windows. Pitch black. I bundled up for the night and went to sleep.